I’m all of a sudden feeling like a modern day Harriet Tubman, and not in a good way.

Harriet Tubman "Talking Heads Series" Oil and Acrylic on Panel 2x2'

Harriet Tubman "Talking Heads Series" Oil and Acrylic on Panel 2x2' by Christa Palazzolo

I think that Sister Tubman said it best when she stated, “I freed thousands of slaves. I could have freed thousands more, if they had known they were slaves.” In the last few weeks of birthing H10 I’ve come to a few mind bending conclusions – (1) Internet professionals tend to fall into one of two categories – action or analysis – and both are needed at different time of the business creation process; and (2) entrepreneurial ability and educational pedigree have little positive correlation. I’m actually surprised that I’m surprised! Check this post from Business Insider by Keith Cowing that inspired this post, Why An MBA Could Kill Your Chance To Become A Great Tech Entrepreneur. The lesson learned here is that I need to find entrepreneurs that are doing “it” or have done exactly what H10 is trying to help with – regardless of their educational pedigree. We need to find mentors and advisors that have a passion for helping other entrepreneurs; not simply helping out as a favor. I pray that they’re out there and that we can find them. God willing, they will find us, and step up on their own.

In the coming weeks I’m also determined to understand why “everyone” seemingly wants to “swing for the fences”, i.e. create the next Facebook or Google. I’m baffled as to why “no one” wants to build the Internet equivalents of Chipotle, Smith & Hawkins, Body Shop, Patagonia or Whole Foods. It’s like every High School girl in America letting their grades slide because they want to be the next Kim Kardashian? Or every boy thinking that their grades don’t matter because they want to play in the NBA. As we all know, 99% of the time, It ain’t going to happen.

More and more I’m starting to dig 37signal’s Bootstrapped, Profitable and Proud series. They’ve got it right…

So don’t worry, I’m not losing my faith, I’m simply rubbing some onions on my clothes, tossing some pepper on the ground and heading North – as soon as the Sun goes down.

